United States National Security Council

The United States National Security Council (USNSC or NSC) is the principal forum chaired by the President of the United States for the consideration of national security and foreign policy matters with senior national security advisors and Cabinet officials and has been an integral part of U.S. national security policymaking since 1947.

Much like all the other national security foundations, the main motivation for NSC's formation was the tension between the Soviet Union and the United States in World War II. Since its inception under Harry S. Truman by the National Security Act 1947 (a major restructuring of the United States government's military and intelligence agencies following World War II, whose intent was to ensure coordination and concurrence among the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force and other instruments of national security policy such as the Central Intelligence Agency, also formed in the National Security Act), the Council's function has been to advise and assist the President on national security and foreign policies. Later in 1949, as a part of the Reorganization Plan, the Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President. Among the various organizations in the Executive Office of the President that have been concerned with national security matters, the NSC is the most important and the only one established by statute. The NSC lies at the heart of the national security apparatus, being the highest coordinative and advisory body within the Government regarding this issue aside from the President’s Cabinet. Although unlike the Cabinet, NSC has a statutory role.

And now, the NSC is faced with a dilemma that can only be considered out of this world.

As the academic team, we recommend this committee to highly experienced delegates.

The National Security Council is chaired by the President and is involved by senior national security advisors and Cabinet officials.

President of the United States - Donald Trump (Chair)

Vice President of the United States - Mike Pence (Chair)

Responsible Under Secretary-General : Nur Ayca Demir - Idil Lopez

Committee Director : Armağan Şencan - armagansencan@hotmail.com

Committee Director : Ege Beysel - beyselege@gmail.com


Cagaloglu Anadolu Lisesi
13 Bab-i Ali Street
Fatih, İstanbul 34110